Carrot, Kale, Orange Juice

A while ago I bought a giant bag of carrots for the purpose of juicing and I had barely used any and I also had a pretty big bunch of kale that was losing it’s bounce. I hate the thought of wasting them so I juiced them up! Carrots contain beta-carotene which is apparently really good for eye health.

I like to start by washing all my produce and getting all ready to go before even getting the juicer out. Makes me feel less hectic

. IMG_9200

When I peel my oranges I try to leave as much of the white pulp as possible. I have heard it is high in fiber and is packed with Vitamin C, which is good for your skin and immune system.

IMG_9201

I had 3 oranges for the juice but couldn’t help but eat the first half I cut…so this juice had 2.5 :p

As I mentioned before, I always line my pulp collector part of the juicer with a bag because it seriously saves so much time and effort. I generally have way too many bags around anyway. I know it’s not the best for the environment but they’re in my house already so what are we going to do about it…

IMG_9202

Oh I also added about an inch of peeled ginger root. I always add something like that in between larger items like carrots because it needs something to follow behind it to get all of the ginger juice and flavor out. I love the smell when the ginger gets juiced!!! You can add more if you want it to be a dominant flavor but I honestly barely taste it this time.

IMG_9204

Here it is….with a bonus mullet action shot in the background 😉

I know what you’re (probably) thinking… Eww right? The hair was a just a phase. Oh and please don’t let this weird color of the juice scare you off… I must admit it’s not very appealing looking but how well do orange and green really mix? Aside from the appearance, it’s actually quite good. The carrots add a sweet flavor so it’s not bitter or hard to get down as lots of veggie juices can be. When making juice, I try to make vegetables the majority of my produce as strictly fruit is high in sugar. I also always add ice because I find a cold juice makes a big difference. I’m putting the rest in the fridge but not for long as it’s best to consume within a day or two. It won’t last long and it won’t get any better looking either. Stir before pouring and enjoy!

Don't be shy!

