Step by step cauliflower sushi

Okay so because I want so badly for you to try this, I will try to break it down into easy to follow steps!

**warning: cauliflower rice has the ability to get everywhere!! I swept twice.

What you’ll need:

  • food processor *
  • stove and pan
  • head of cauliflower
  • nori (sushi rolling seaweed sheets)
  • apple cider vinegar
  • fillings of your choice
  • coconut amino (optional) for dipping instead of soy sauce

First, as always, I start by washing my veg. Throw the cauli in a sink of water and get your food processor set up. Once it’s all ready place pieces of cauli into FP. IMG_9170

Pulse a couple of times until it’s broken down into “rice” sized pieces (give or take). Just before I transferred mine into a pan I added some coconut oil. Put pan on med heat and give it a few minutes before stirring.

IMG_9171

I had to do it in 2 batches because I found the blade of my FP better reached all the pieces when it wasn’t over crowded. So when my first batch was in the pan, I pulsed the second batch. It doesn’t take very long, and you don’t want to let it get mushy. Once texture is how you want it, place into bowl and add 2 tbsp. of apple cider vinegar.

IMG_9172

This helps to give it the sushi rice flavor, and also helps it stick together. Then I put the bowl into the fridge to allow to completely cool. If you don’t have much other prep you can put it in the freezer for a few minutes if you want it to chill fast! While it’s cooling, get all your fillings ready. AGAIN I really wish I had seafood because I love it and I just don’t think sushi’s quite the same without it but anyway. I used leftover yams, beef, and carrots….weird I know but it helps clean out the fridge.

IMG_9173

length ways is the best way to cut veggies or fillings because it will make rolling easier. 😉 I have one of those bamboo rolling things but honestly I think it makes it harder, I’m probably using it wrong. Nori goes shiny side down, and “rice” gets spread evenly leaving a border around the edge.

IMG_9174

Place all your fillings near the edge closest to you, roll! I don’t know if there’s any tips I can give for this part of the process because I think I’m also doing it wrong. I have read to moisten the edges with water. Once you get it into somewhat of a roll, transfer it to a cutting board.

IMG_9177

You definitely want to use a sharp knife when slicing. It’s also important to wet the knife so it doesn’t snag the nori. The edges of mine didn’t really stick together but I just tried to make it look as decent as possible. Transfer to plate and enjoy!! I dipped mine in coconut amino which is soy free and says it’s 60% less sodium than soy sauce. Unlike the name suggests it actually has no coconut flavor. I avoid soy because it’s one of the most genetically modified crop out there as well as very processed. It’s a personal choice though. Here is a really good comparison article listing the pros and cons of soy sauce, tamari, and coconut aminos.

http://renegadehealth.com/blog/2013/09/04/whats-healthiest-soy-sauce-tamari-or-braggs-what-about-coconut-aminos

I may have a bias opinion but at least this article has more information of the actual process than I’m able to provide. Then you’re free to make the best choice for you 🙂

IMG_9178

2 thoughts on “Step by step cauliflower sushi

Don't be shy!

