Zucchini Boats

I had some more zucs and I wanted to do something other than zoodles with them. Again, while browsing food pages on Instagram I came across this idea. I didn’t really follow a recipe, I just wanted to use some stuff from the fridge that needed using.

IMG_9252

I started with like 3.5 small tomatoes and tossed them in the FP to blend. I sautéed some onion and garlic in a pan then added carrots, bell pepper, some dried herbs, salt and pepper. I would have definitely added ground beef if it was my main meal item. You can use larger zucs and add ground meat of choice if you want! I had left over steak and my ground meat was frozen so I just made it an all veg side.

Trim your ends and use a spoon to hollow out the middles. Let sauce simmer for a bit. Since there’s no meat, there’s really no specific timing or doneness, whatever your preference for veg softness I guess.

IMG_9254

I use 350 as my go to oven temp unless something specifies otherwise. So I just spooned the tomato sauce into my boats and put them in the oven! I also did not time this part I just poked the zucs with a toothpick and estimated doneness…

IMG_9255

Once they were cooked I drizzled them with “Ranch”. They were surprisingly good. I used to HATE zucchini more than any vegetable but it’s obviously growing on me. I’m definitely going to try with a meaty sauce sometime!

Don't be shy!

