Apple Bacon Butternut Squash Soup

Yup. Wow. So. Good.

I personally love root vegetables and specifically love butternut squash soup. It’s obviously not really in season but I still love it. It will be even better in the fall when I can get local squash. This is my first time making it! It was shockingly easy, and definitely something worth making again.

This recipe is once again from Make it Paleo 2. Such a good purchase.

IMG_9385

So the first step is to peel and cube the butter nut squash. Roast for 40 mins at 425. Basically until it’s soft.

When my squash was done I set it aside. In a soup pot I added a chopped onion, lots of garlic and 5 pieces of bacon from the butcher. The recipe only called for 2 cloves of garlic but I added like 7.

IMG_9386

When the onion becomes translucent and the bacon starts to cook (about 10 mins) add 2 granny smith apples peeled and diced. After 10 minutes add the roasted squash, 3 cups of chicken stock, cinnamon, salt and pepper.

IMG_9387

The recipe called for sage but I skipped this because I didn’t have it. I thought about subbing a different herb but just decided against it. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 15 mins. I also had some carrots and cauliflower that I threw in the oven. The cauliflower was good and I added it in. My carrots however, became really dry and had a very unpleasant taste so I decided not to include them.

After 15 mins of simmering, use an immersion blender to puree the soup. Be careful! It’s hot and I found it splashed up.

IMG_9388

Keep blending until it’s smooth and a delicious creamy texture. You may have to stir a few times and seek out the apples at the bottom. Apple bacon and squash just so happens to be a great combo!!

IMG_9389

As a garnish, in a small frying pan mince 2 pieces of bacon and cook until crispy. Add to the top of each bowl. The recipe also says to drizzle the top with olive oil, I did the first time, and I didn’t really notice it. When I reheated this today, I didn’t add the olive oil. Mostly because I forgot but I didn’t really miss it.

IMG_9391

Kind of stoked how much it resembles the cook book!! It was so yummy, even at 30 degrees. I love soup!!!

One thought on “Apple Bacon Butternut Squash Soup

Don't be shy!

