Hot Cacao

The other night I was cravings something sweet (like EVERYNIGHT) and I wanted something cozy and warm. I tried googling sugar free hot cacao but I either didn’t like the recipes or I didn’t have the ingredients. So I decided to just wing it!!

IMG_9338

I used:

  • Cacao Powder
  • Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • Pure Vanilla extract
  • Raw Honey
  • Cinnamon

I started off by boiling a bit of water. In a bowl I whisked together 2 tbsp. of raw cacao powder and a small amount of boiling water. This step is crucial because if you don’t whisk it first before adding it to your pot you will end up with those mysterious dry clumps.

IMG_9334

To a small pot on the stove I added 3/4 of my mug of unsweetened almond milk. One capful of vanilla and aprx 1 tsp of cinnamon. Let that start to warm, then I added the cacao mixture.

IMG_9335

Basically once this was up to temp for me (I like hot drinks HOT) I just added to my mug, stirred in a spoonful of raw honey and that’s it!

IMG_9337 IMG_9336

It was the perfect cozy cup to curl up to some Netflix with (duh)… I will warn you though if you’re used to pre packaged hot chocolate this will take some adjusting to. It is not by any means a super sweet treat. I didn’t want to use more than one spoon of honey, but you’re obviously able to sweeten it as much as you like! It was rich and delicious and satisfying.

Don't be shy!

