Curly Yam fries and Spicy Mayo

My friend Shelby came over last night and joined me for dinner! It was fun 🙂

I wanted to try out making curly fries with yams. And what are yam fries without spicy mayo!?! As you know I love dipping and last night I made homemade mayo for the first time it was actually heavenly. It was also spreadable!! So the texture of this worked out much better than my first attempt at ranch.

Mayo:

  • 1 room temp egg
  • 2tsp lemon juice
  • sea salt
  • black pepper
  • dry mustard
  • 1 cup olive oil

The original recipe called for macadamia nut oil which I’m sure would have been rich and delicious but I assume it’s expensive and I already had olive oil on hand. It did mention you could sub olive oil for a nut free mayo.

I started by leaving my egg out on the counter quite a while before making it as when I made the ranch my sauce “broke” which means separated and the texture wasn’t ideal so I wanted to be careful about following exactly what they said. With my immersion blender I blended the egg, lemon juice, and all the spices first. After it was frothy, I added the oil EXTREMELY slowly. As a tiny drizzle. This creates an “emulsion” which is a mixture of 2 liquids. With the dump ranch I just dumped everything in and blended but next time I would for sure add the oil last and very slowly. My mayo thickened up to the exact texture of conventional mayo and I found I actually didn’t need the whole cup of olive oil. I debated added it in anyway but it was the perfect whip and I didn’t want to make it too oily.

IMG_9437 wow right!!!

I put about half aside and further added onion powder, garlic powder, lemon zest and cayenne powder for a spicy mayo dip. I may have gone slightly over board with the pepper because it was quite spicy ahh.

IMG_9454

Keeps in fridge for about a week I think. I was actually shocked how similar it tasted to the mayo I know, and with such simple ingredients!!

IMG_9444

Me in my cool apron from Tofino, B.C

For the first time I used the “spiralizer” to spiral yams. This was my version of curly fries! I curled about 2 yams. Next time I would use the smaller spiral as it keeps more of the curl shape.

IMG_9442

Just peel first, cut both ends flat and get crankin! Really wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be because yams are quite solid. Once the yams were spiraled I covered them with onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper to mimic seasoning salt. Baked in the oven at 350 for aprx 20 mins. We were having hail and thunder and we were worried we might lose power before it was cooked. Thankfully we didn’t.

While the yams were in the oven I cooked some chicken and made a salad.

IMG_9451

Cute date night!!!

IMG_9453

Even cuter date 😉 Was fun to have some company over. First meal I’ve cooked for a guest in the new place!

Don't be shy!

