Raw Chocolate Nut Cake

I have to say thanks to Mandy for this recipe. This is her book, available in Criv!!

IMG_9186

Crust:

  • 8 medjool dates (pitted and soaked 20 mins ahead)
  • 1 and 1/2 cup raw pecans
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tbsp raw honey

This was supposed to be a round “cheese cake” pan but we are still getting our supplies so all I had was this deep rectangular tupperware. Pressed down with a spoon.

IMG_9484

Looks like bird seed, tastes like sin (the good kind).

Cake :

  • 1 cup raw cashews (soaked 4 hours ahead)
  • 1/2 cup cacao powder
  • 5 tbsp raw honey
  • 1 cup coconut meat ( I found this in the “natural” isle at Save On. In the little freezer area)
  • 1 cup nut butter (I used almond)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 3/4 – 1 cup almond milk (I used store bought)
  • 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract

IMG_9487IMG_9488

Check out that delicious layering. Recipe also uses a homemade chocolate drizzle on the top but I chose to just use chopped nuts and berries.

IMG_9489 IMG_9490

pop it in the freezer and you basically have a magical creamy chocolate ice cream ish cake. Crowd pleaser for sure!!

So this recipe takes a bit of planning since the raw cashews soak in water for 4 hours before use and dates soak for 20 mins. It also says your choice of nuts in crust as well as your choice of nut butter. I used almond butter because it was what I had on hand. Although I do really like almond butter, it was a pretty dominant flavor in my cake so I would definitely consider taking Mandy’s suggestion of using hazelnut butter because I imagine it has more of a chocolately taste.

IMG_9515 IMG_9495

ok yum…

Go check out Mandy’s blog http://www.mandyshealthylife.com/ for even more of her recipes!!

Don't be shy!

