Hello Again

It feels like so long since I’ve posted something! I have lots of food and adventures to upload.

Rob came home from camp on the 13th and we have been just taking it easy, making dinners, hanging out. The blog is something that keeps me busy while he’s gone and although I have lots to post, I like to spend time with him in person while I have him around.

This past weekend someone I know from my hometown passed away in a car accident. Although we weren’t super close, it’s really tragic to see such a good person go so young (24 years old). He was such a nice person and all the memories I have with him are good ones. It’s really quite bizarre to think about death, how someone you know (or don’t know) can be doing their thing one moment and the next can be gone from this world forever. It’s also kind of hard to understand why good people seem to go SO young when lets be honest, there’s a mass of extremely shitty people out there to choose from. It gets you thinking, what will people remember me for or have to say about me when it’s my time? I would like to think that I spend my time being kind to people and leaving somewhat of a positive impact, or at least not negative. Something like this makes you realize how fragile life is and I’m the type of person who worries a lot about unnecessary things….natural disasters (no secret), traveling, illness, finances, the future. Normal stuff that normal people worry about but sometimes to the excess. I realize that my mind always drifts to the worst case scenario or every “what if” that exists. I am trying to make a point to relax a little and replace those worries with positives thoughts.

worry2

I don’t want to spend what unknown time I have worrying about things that really don’t matter in the end. That’s not to say I won’t need to be smart about the future and finances and all that but there’s no point in making up problems when everything is fine (right now). Most of the things that consume us are completely out of our control and that is something I have to shake. If there’s going to be an earthquake, well I just can’t stop it.

worry

I do have a lot to be excited about. We have an amazing life here and I literally have nothing to complain about. I have wayyyyy more to be happy and thankful for than sad and worried about other than rare events like this weekend. That’s kind of one reason I don’t really watch the news, I feel like the media really emphasized the horrors of everyday and ignores the good parts of life.

It’s really important to tell the people that are important to you that you love them because you really don’t know how long you’ll get to have them in your life.

R.I.P Lance xo

Don't be shy!

