Snack Prep

Rob heads back to work tomorrow and as usual is gone for 20 days. What a long haul. Mostly for him because he’s the one doing the work, but I feel the absence too of course. I used to dwell a bit on the fact that he was gone so long but then I realized that it’s hard for him to be away too, it’s not like he loves leaving for 20 days. Starting in a month or so I’m going to be extremely busy and I probably won’t have too many extra minutes to think about it.

Anyways last rotation was the first one in our new place, and I filled my time with trying new recipes, getting to know the new city, setting up our place etc. As always he was in camp but now with a new mindset regarding food. We are both trying to avoid the same things in our daily lives but we have different options. I am here creating and making new recipes daily and enjoying food to the max. He is in the position where someone else is making all their food and his options become limited when most fall outside of our new ideals. Almost every night when we talk on the phone I tell him what I made that day and I ask him what he had for dinner and more often than not he replies “steamed chicken and vegetables.” You can imagine that gets pretty boring. Everything else is like battered fish, fries, chicken strips. Occasionally they have steak and prawn night and of course he enjoys that. I decided I would try and make this next rotation a bit easier for him and prep some yummy snacks to take with him.

Fruit Leather (Mandy’s Cookbook)   http://www.mandyshealthylife.com/

  • 2 cups strawberries
  • 1 banana chopped
  • 1 tbsp raw honey

preheat oven to 200. Blend the 3 ingredients in blender.

IMG_9680

Becomes a frothy delicious smelling mixture.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, add mix and spread it out with spatula.

IMG_9681

Bake for 4-6 hours until you can peel it from the paper. I think mine was spread semi unevenly so some became quite crisp and some was still soft…something I would try to do more evenly next time. I also think mine was done near 4 hours but I left it in a bit longer to try and cook the soft part but then the other parts became a little over cooked…dang.

IMG_9688

Once cooled, cut into strips and roll! Kind of cute because it looks just like a fruit roll up…well it is I guess! Such good simple ingredients 🙂

I also made energy balls. I didn’t really follow a recipe because I just wanted to wing it…in my food processor I added raw cashews, dates, vanilla, cacao, ground coffee (um YUM) small amount of almond butter, shredded coconut, and of course cacao powder. I didn’t measure anything just threw it in the processor. I also needed a few splashes of almond milk to help it get going.

IMG_9682

Then I took the chocolatey mix and rolled it into balls. I then rolled them in shredded coconut, or cacao powder. I made Rob 20, one a day for his shift ! :p Don’t eat them all in one day!!!!!

IMG_9731

Here is the final results! 10 pre packed mixed nuts, fruit leather, and energy balls. I feel like I’ve done my part in ensuring he has at least a few options that taste good for snacking! He takes care of me big time and I try to at least take care of him in the ways I can. I have to applaud his genuine efforts and progress in this adventure. I know I’m so lucky to have a partner who enjoys cooking and being in the kitchen just as much as I do but I also have to really appreciate the fact that he’s willing to change his habits and lifestyle with me. It’s so much easier than 2 people eating completely separate ways or one person resenting the other for making changes without really wanting to themselves.

Have a safe rotation see you in 20 xo

Don't be shy!

