Kale Chips

This is something I have been wanting to try for a while. I had only once before had kale chips and I wasn’t a fan of the seasoning that came on them so I didn’t like them. All you really need is kale and a cooking oil like olive or coconut. And an oven…some people make this in a dehydrator but I do not own one and found the oven was perfectly fine!

Start by washing your kale and preheat your oven to 350.

IMG_9743

This is important because tiny little things can hide in the curliness of kale.

Next you want to make sure your kale is very dry. I took a very long time basically hand drying each piece with paper towel because again the curls hold water and I wanted these to turn out! If your kale is wet you will likely end up with soggy bites instead of crunchy chips.

IMG_9744

Toss a small amount of oil (I used olive) with the dry pieces and “massage” it into the leafs to ensure it gets every one.

IMG_9748

While in the bowl I seasoned mine a few different ways. I ended up doing 3 batches because I only have one baking sheet and couldn’t fit all the kale in one time. I used garlic powder, onion powder, nutritional yeast, salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper on the first 2 batches and they were delish. On the last batch I only used onion powder and garlic powder.

IMG_9749IMG_9750

Before and after cooking. 12 minutes in the oven and done. I timed it and it was pretty much perfect.

IMG_9751

crispy delicious chips! I like the seasoning, you could really use anything. Simple would be just salt and pepper, maybe even lemon juice? I’m sure the internet has a huge collection of suggestions.

IMG_9770

I used some of my homemade sauce, added some spicy cayenne and used it as a dip. It’s not mrs vickies but it’s basically chips and dip….yum πŸ™‚

Don't be shy!

