Bars

Not 100% sure how to categorize these bars yet. I would refer to them as granola bars except they contain zero granola. First attempt! I found the recipe from a google search at http://www.preppypaleo.com/2014/02/grain-free-granola-bars.html

IMG_0178[1]

All dry ingredients into a bowl.

  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1 cup total raw nuts/seeds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp ground flaxseed

IMG_0179[1]

Almond meal just means almond flour. Should have just one ingredient: Almonds. You can usually find it in the “natural” isle at Save On or a health food store. I chose a mix of raw cashews, pecans, and pumpkin seeds. I also couldn’t find ground flaxseed in the bulk section so they got ground up using the hand blender at home (thanks mom).

IMG_0180[1]

  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg (OR chia option http://www.preppypaleo.com/2014/02/grain-free-granola-bars.html)
  • 1/4 cup raw honey
  • 1/2 cup raw almond butter

If you can’t eat eggs there was an alternative on the original recipe, I am posting what I used. I used the hand blender to mix this as it was very thick…which I guess makes sense because almond butter is.

IMG_0181[1]

An electric mixer or hand blender was pretty necessary to mix the honey and nut butter. I then slowly added the dry ingredients to the wet and mixed them together a bit at a time. I also folded in some 95% dark chocolate chunks (a bit bitter). I didn’t have the 8×8 baking pan so I just used a square of my cookie sheet.

IMG_0182[1]

I was worried it wouldn’t hold it’s shape on the sheet but it did. The recipe said 20 minutes at 350. I thought maybe it was a bit long. I took them out at 19 and the edges were quite browned.

IMG_0183[2]

As recommended I let the pan cool and then placed it in the fridge to help set the bars before cutting. They were a bit crumbly but actually have a softer/chewier texture than expected. They are almost like chewy cookies. You can add any combo of nuts/seeds, nut butter, or any other extras like shredded coconut or dried cherries(I might try dehydrating some to add). Next batch I will be adding more and possibly taking them out earlier.

I gave these to Rob for work so I’m probably going to make another batch for myself to have during the first week of school!!

One thought on “Bars

Don't be shy!

