Honey Sesame Wings

Rob and I have been going to the butcher on the South side of Edmonton which is a bit far for unplanned trips. My aunt told me about a butcher that was closer so I went and checked it out! I really like chicken so I stocked up on some thighs and wings. Also butcher bacon is my fave.

I was flipping through the Make it Paleo2 book by ~> Primal Palate <~ and found a wing sauce. What perfect timing since I had just bought wings earlier that day!

IMG_0228[1]

  • 1/2 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp grated garlic
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 cup coconut aminos
  • 1/2 tsp fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp toasted sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp raw honey.

This sauce recipe is good for 24 wings. I only had less than 10 but the measurements were already small so I just went with the whole recipe. I had a bit too much sauce but saved it for a stirfry sauce.

IMG_0229[1]

Okay this picture is widely unappealing but it smelled and tasted amazing. Start with the coco oil, ginger, garlic until you can smell it. Add red pepper flakes, coco amino, fish sauce, stir and combine. Then, add sesame oil and honey while stirring over medium heat until the honey is mixed in and the sauce bubbles. Turn down to low and let simmer.
I like how in the cookbook it explains that although it takes a bit longer to make your own sauce and reduce it, taking the extra 20 mins really makes the difference. I feel that way about most foods and by making it yourself you are in total control about what’s in it.

In another pan I added a bit of butter and the raw chicken wings. They took about 20 ish mins to cook in the pan. I would have baked them but the ~>cherries<~ were in the oven. I flipped them every few minutes and tried to get all sides. I checked the biggest one with a knife after about 15 mins but the juices weren’t running clear yet so I kept it on. When all the chicken was cooked I transferred the hot wings into the now reduced sauce.

IMG_0232[1]

I still have to work on presentation hah…here is a mound of wings that were great, try them! You could make a dip if you felt inclined and you could also garnish with green onion and sesame seed as the book shows but I didn’t have either on hand. To me, there is something so satisfying about eating with my hands…a rib or a chicken wing type scenario, yes please.

Don't be shy!

