Freezer Scones

Flipping through my Nom Nom Paleo cookbook for apple recipes, I came across scones. As a bonus recipe it also suggests making a chocolate and dried cherry version…well I just dried cherries so lets make both.

What I did today was a bit of an experiment. I made the 2 batches of dough but I did not bake them, instead I froze the scones raw so we will have some ready to bake snacks on hand. I feel like they taste fresher this way? First time doing this so I have no idea how they will turn out…

*If making for right now, turn on the oven to 350*

Combine:

  • 3 cups blanched almond flour (I feel like mine wasn’t, and apparently that’s important…. :|)
  •  1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Then add 4 tbsp butter and mix in with your hands or pastry cutter until it’s crumbly. Then add 1 tsp cinnamon. (the cinnamon is only suppose to go in the apple ones but I added it to the double dry ingredients so it went in both 🙂

In a separate bowl whisk:

IMG_0251

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tbsp honey

Pour wet ingredients into the center of dry, fold until chunky dough forms, throw in the apple (I used 2 small). My dough seemed insanely soft and wet and did not look like the photo. Maybe it was the blanched factor? I just ended up adding more almond flour a tbsp at a time until it was at least holdable in my hands.

IMG_0253

*****To make chocolate cherry scones: add 1 tsp of vanilla into wet ingredients, and add 1/4 cup of dried cherries + 3 oz super-dark chocolate instead of apples+cinnamon.

IMG_0252IMG_0255

You can shape them however, I chose triangular. What I did now was cut some chunks of tinfoil and shaped the dough into large triangles. I individually wrapped the scones and placed them in a container in the freezer. I figured these would be great to have on hand to either make one or two at a time and make them last or to bake up a batch for Rob’s work snacks right before leaving. I did however put aside one scone from each dough and baked them to have now because I wanted to make sure they were ok. I am kind of worried about the frozen ones because the tinfoil seemed to be sticking to the dough but I just went for it.

IMG_0254

Apple cinnamon and chocolate cherry.

IMG_0256

Baked! I will let you know how the frozen dough cooks at a later date.

Don't be shy!

