Meatless Monday

This wasn’t really planned it just happened. I feel like I have been baking a lot and that sometimes I forget that even though I made a healthier alternative baked good, it’s still a treat. I really felt weighed down from a month of not so careful eating and also all the treats I’ve been having so I tried to focus on upping the intake of veg for this weeks menu.

Vegetable omelette with half an avocado and a large coffee w/coconut milk.

I sauteed some onion, pepper, and broccoli. Once it was cooked I pushed it to one side of the pan. I poured in 2 beaten eggs and moved the pan around to get the egg under the veg. That’s it!.

Tonight was basically a great way for me to clear out all the existing produce and left overs before the week starts. Today while looking through ~>Nom Nom Paleo<~ which by the way is an AMAZING book, I found this rice I wanted to make.

Coconut Pineapple rice

  • 1 medium cauliflower
  • coconut oil
  • small yellow onion
  • 1/2 cup full fat coconut milk
  • 1 cup fresh pineapple
  • 1 scallion (I used green onion)
  • Salt n pep

Once your cauliflower is pulsed into rice size in a food processor, heat some oil in a pan. Add onions, cook until translucent. Add cauli and coconut milk, stir to combine. Season with salt. Cover and cook for 5-10 mins (I didn’t really follow a time, but checked to see if the coconut milk had absorbed. Transfer rice into a bowl, add pineapple and scallion.

Roasted Veg:

This wasn’t so much a recipe in Nom Nom Paleo but in the building blocks chapter. It happens to me where I think it’s a great idea to buy a HUGE bag of beets, or carrots, to not feel as enthusiastic about them at the end of the bag. Instead of risking wasting them I need to get into a routine of doing a drawer clean out before the weekly shop.

Just take all the produce from your fridge, chop them up, toss with salt, pepper, herbs if you like, and cooking fat (olive oil, coconut oil, avocado oil, butter)

IMG_0282[1]

Yams, beets, carrot, yellow pepper, broccoli, don’t worry if you don’t think it goes together. Roast all on a baking sheet at 425* for 30-45 mins. I only set my smoke detector off once making this.

NOTE that I bought a green cauliflower!!! We saw it at the farmers market and it was pretty and I got it. My rice looks weird but I assure you it’s fine 🙂

IMG_0283[1]

Love the colors of the beets and yams. Fall brings root vegetables and I’m all over those!! yay

IMG_0286[1]

Leftovers! Which I’m likely going to eat right now…because it’s 3 hours after dinner and I’m hungry… Meatless Monday isn’t likely a weekly thing. It may happen that I won’t eat meat during a day that isn’t Monday, or I might eat meat every day aha I don’t know.

Don't be shy!

