Skillet Chicken

So my first week of meal planning went really well. It was nice to know ahead of time what I was making that evening. For someone like myself it seems kind of extreme to have everything planned out since it’s only me, and I have quite a bit of time on my hands. Still, it really helped. It kept me on track for sticking to foods I want to eat, it also provided me with lunches that I could eat immediately when I got home from school.

Skillet Chicken.

This recipe uses a cast iron skillet but I do not have one. So instead of using CI which you can transfer from stove top to oven, I used a regular pan for stove top and a glass pyrex baking dish for the oven portion. You CAN make things work with the tools you already have.

I followed the method from the recipe but I did not follow the ingredients so I will post what I used.

You will need:

  • skin on chicken thighs – recipe says 6 but again I didn’t count or measure, just used 1 package that I bought from the butcher, I believe it was only 3 thighs
  • Salt
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • black pepper
  • 1/2 a lemon sliced into rounds and quartered

Preheat oven to 425*  (I placed glass baking dish in oven to preheat and avoid transferring the hot chicken to a cold dish)

***NOTE I had to debone my thighs which was interesting. I used a small knife and went along the bone until it was severed enough for me to yank it out. Not at all my favorite activity but when they’re cooked it’s so worth it. I saved the bones in the freeze for future broth.

Heat large pan. Rinse chicken under cold water, pat dry with paper towel. Season the skin with salt, when pan is hot cook skin down. I cooked mine until I could see a golden brown crispy layer. Flip and cook for about 1 minute, then season with the spices. I then put the seared chicken into the warmed pyrex glass casserole dish and baked in the oven for 25 minutes.

I only got one photo because lets be honest no one wants to see me de boning anything and also once the cooking process started it was pretty hands on until they were in the oven.

IMG_0295[1]

SO GOOD! I love chicken thighs already but this method really gave it a crispy outside. The next day I used the 3rd thigh over salad for lunch. Delicious. The original recipe is from Make it Paleo2 by ~> Primal Palate <~ but I omitted quite a few of their suggested ingredients out of convenience. Easily made a complete meal with any salad or side of choice.

Don't be shy!

