Carrot + Cardamom soup

IMG_0334[1]

Here are the ingredients I used. I always like to read through my recipe and pre measure what I can so that it is less hectic when I need that ingredient NOW!

  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 large leeks (I used 1)
  • 1 1/2 lbs carrots – cut into1/2 inch coins
  • 1/4 cup diced apple
  • 1 tsp minced fresh ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cardamom
  • 4 cups chicken broth (I used the large container of broth I had made a bit ago, in total it was closer to 3 cups. This may have made my soup more of a puree than a liquid but I’m fine with that)
  • 1/2 full fat coconut milk.
  • black pepper

Melt coconut oil, add leeks and some salt, sautee for about 5 mins. Toss in the carrots, apple, ginger, and cardamom. Stir until “fragrant”. Pour in broth and bring to a boil over high heat. Once boiling, turn down heat to low, cover and simmer for 30 minutes. Then mix in coconut milk.

You can finish the soup by using an immersion blender and blending right in the pot, or you can carefully transfer the soup to a glass blender and mix it that way. You may have to do it in batches if you’re using a blender.

IMG_0335[1]

Yum! It’s a nice hearty soup that is delicious and healthy. This lasted me the rest of the week. This recipe comes from ~>Nom Nom Paleo<~ check it out!!

Don't be shy!

