Portobello Mushroom Burgers

Started by making “big-o bacon burgers” in Nom Nom Paleo.
I chopped up some bacon, and hand mixed it into 1 pound of gr beef. I divided it by 4 and made 4 nice sized patties. I cooked mine for a lot longer than the book says because I think they’re going for ‘med-rare’ where as I like my ground beef FULLY cooked!!

IMG_0368[1]

I made some roasted portobello mushroom caps to use as “buns”. Preheat oven to 400*, line a baking sheet with foil

I put some coconut oil on the outside of the caps, made a small x on the top of each, and cleaned out the gills with a spoon. Roast gill side down for 10 mins. After ten mins, flip them over and cook for another 10 mins.

IMG_0367[1] IMG_0369[1]

You can assemble however you prefer.

IMG_0370[1] IMG_0371[1] IMG_0372[1]

A good side with burgers? FRIES OF COURSE….Yam fries and homemade spicy mayo
IMG_0375[1] IMG_0376[1]

I must say the mushroom makes a beautiful bun. It’s really neat to transform food into other things!! I will be 100% honest with you guys – as I always am- the mushroom was kind of too large. As you can see it’s not only huge to the point that I couldn’t really bite all the layers at once, but also the mushroom didn’t seem cooked down quite enough so it still had quite a chewy texture that turned me off. I ended up taking the top “bun” off and eating it open face with fork n knife. Not sure if cooking longer is the answer or if these ones are too large for this purpose, not sure. My first time using them so I will have to try a few more times.

IMG_0380[1]

The beauty of it is that most “dinner” items can be made into amazing left over lunches by putting the protein on a bed of salad. This here is I guess bacon burger salad with citrus dressing. So good. Maybe even better than the original. I put the remaining 2 patties in the freezer for quick ready to heat burgs.

Don't be shy!

