Cashew Chicken

I got this recipe from the Paleo Takeout book I have check out his ~>BLOG<~. It’s basically restaurant style food (mostly Asian) without additives or questionable ingredients. Most of the dishes are actually shockingly easy. It’s been so much easier to eat delicious whole foods than I thought possible.

For the sauce I combined

  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 1/2 inch fresh ginger root minced
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 tbsp chinese cooking wine
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp tamari (I used coconut aminos)
  • salt and pepper

Brought to a simmer over medium heat then turned down the heat and prepared rest of the dish.

I personally had about 4 chicken breasts which I cut into bite sized chunks. In a pan I cooked the chicken in 2 batches. Each batch I used a tbsp of coconut oil to cook the bite sized pieces. It’s aprx 2 mins per side for each batch. While the second batch was cooking I put the first batch in the oven at 200* to keep warm. Once all the chicken was cooked I transferred the sauce and the chicken to the pan.

I cut up one orange pepper in large chunks, 1/2 an onion, and a bag of snow peas into the pan. I let this all get warm and colorful.

I added about a cup of cashews. The recipe called of roasted but mine were raw, this caused them to be soft but I didn’t feel like roasting them myself. I also added a “slurry” which consisted of 1 tbsp arrowroot starch and 1 tbsp water, I added this to the pan and it thickens the sauce.

Often although these dishes do look amazing, the best part is the sauce and you just can’t capture that in a photo. MMM this sauce was so yummy with the fresh ginger. I also get excited when they look like the book, I used orange pepper instead of red, but otherwise!

Sometimes people are surprised that I cook food for one. I often hear it’s too much effort to feed just yourself or one person or whatever. I honestly don’t think the fact that I (or whomever) am/is cooking just for themselves that they should cut themselves short of quality and taste. Not saying everyone wants to cook but if you would be inclined to cook for others, cook for you!!

 

MMM leftovers are the bomb.

Don't be shy!

