Meatloaf

Got this recipe from ~> Nom Nom Paleo ‘s <~  cook book.

This one has to cook for over an hour and rest for 20 so it’s not for a quick last minute dinner. But you can make this up to a day in advance before baking.

You will need:

  • 1 tbsp cooking fat of choice (ghee, coconut oil, tallow)
  • 1 small onion
  • 1/2 lb mushrooms minced
  • 2 med celery stalks
  • 1/2 cup loosely packed parsley
  • 1/4 cup coconut cream
  • 1 pound ground pork (I used beef, I think any ground protein would work).
  • 1 pound frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp fresh nutmeg (I wish I had this but I didn’t)
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 5 bacon slices

Preheat oven to 350*

I always like to read my ENTIRE recipe before starting. I also try to have the ingredient list pre measured where possible so I can just add when needed. It makes me a lot less hectic than trying to read and measure and mix all at once.

IMG_0635IMG_0637

Heat the fat over medium heat. Add chopped onion and mushrooms, and cook until softened.

IMG_0636

Put the celery, parsley, and coconut cream into a blender (or use a hand held) and blend until smooth. In large bowl combine ground meat, chopped spinach, coconut flour, salt, pepper, nutmeg, and garlic. Add the eggs to the rest of the ingredients. Pour the blended green mixture into the bowl use hands to gently combine.

IMG_0638

Transfer the mixture to an ungreased 9×5 pan (as per recipe) I only had a large size pyrex dish so I was like meh I’m using it. I wasn’t sure if it would lose shape but it didn’t and it worked perfectly fine. I don’t rush out to buy things if I can find a reasonable way around it.

IMG_0639

Layer bacon slices on top.Don’t be afraid to overlap them. Bake for 70 minutes (1 hour, 10 minutes), rotating the pan half way. Can broil at the end to crisp bacon.

Rest loaf for 20 mins, then slice!

IMG_0641 IMG_0644

This was my first meat loaf ever. It’s pretty heavy so the amount really goes along way for 1-2 people. It’s delicious and you get a good helping of spinach in there! Bacon helps.

Don't be shy!

