Roast Beef “Stew”

So this is the bomb. It’s like a super easy amazing recipe. I almost want this to be my secret recipe. But it’s worth sharing because even the photos make it look delicious.

You need:

  • Roast
  • Crock pot/slow cooker
  • Carrots
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Beef stock
  • Butter
  • Red wine
  • seasonings

To start I used salt, pepper, and garlic powder to season the flat part of the roast that was facing up. I heated up a tbsp of coconut oil and then put the seasoned side down when it was hot. I seasoned the other side and let it form a crust. Aprx 2-3 mins. Flip. Also season and crust the sides, easiest way to do this is to hold it with tongs and go around in a stop sign shape…octagon(?) Put the seared (but raw) roast into your crock pot.

IMG_0991[1]

In the pan you seared the roast in, add liquid beef stock (I used 480 ml). I then poured a good glug glug glug glug of my homemade blackberry wine into the pan. Melt a generous chunk of butter in, stirring the good stuff from the bottom of the pan – De glazing I think is what that is called.

IMG_0990[1]

I added the onion, halved garlic cloves, carrots around the roast. I poured the deglaze over the roast into the crock and it came about half way up the meat. I cooked for about 7.5 hours on low. Last time when Rob made roast we made gravy for all our fixings but since I don’t have sides I don’t need gravy and chose to eat this more like a stew.

IMG_1003[1]

It’s like the nail has been hammered. A new favorite for sure. It is literally melt in my mouth. For me, the combination of wine butter and stock is what really seals the deal.

IMG_1004[1]

This is a comforting and realistic dinner for 1 or 2 people having a low key Thanksgiving. You might not be wanting to cook a turkey for one, but this is doable! I made this a few days ago and it’s great.

Don't be shy!

