Bam Bam Prawns + Yam fries

This recipe is from Paleo Takeout, my favorite cook book, check out his blog / instagram. Always has me satisfied as if I ordered some exotic dish yet it’s relatively easy.

Combine sauce and set aside

  • 3 tsbp mayo (I used primal mayo that I ordered)
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp Franks original hot sauce (I used 1 tbsp). There are surprisingly, apparently only 4 ingredients in Franks.
  • 1 tsp chipotle chili powder (I did not add this)
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp white pepper (I used black pepper)

To make prawns:

  • 1/4 cup lard, ghee, or coconut oil
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 2 lbs raw prawns (I did not weigh, bought large bag)
  • 2 green onions to garnish.

Heat 1/4 cup cooking fat in pan, while it’s warming whip the egg white until frothy, add starch and salt. Stir to combine, will become a batter. Toss the prawns in batter to coat. Add coated prawns to pan in batches. Cook until golden.

IMG_0979[1] IMG_0980[1]

Put  cooked prawns on plate lined with paper towel, cook next batch.

IMG_0981[1]

Once all are cooked, toss with sauce, green onion, and recipe suggests sesame seeds.

IMG_0982[1]

For the yam fries I set the oven a 350*. I cut the yam as fry like as I could, toss with small amount of oil or fat. I didn’t time this, I just took my time making the prawns while these baked. Take out at least once to flip and rearrange.

IMG_0984[1]   IMG_0987[1]

Don't be shy!

