Lettuce Wrap Tacos w/ Fresh Salsa

MMM love me some tacos…ahah.  This is really easy and delicious. Looks like more work than it actually is and if you prep in advance it will feel like a breeze.

So to start I prepped all the fixings to make everything easier. I bought ice berg lettuce to use as our wraps, it’s a good choice because it holds a cup shape and makes it easy to fill and wrap. For the guac, I mashed avocado, garlic, salt and pepper and lots of citrus. I can’t remember if I used lemon or lime but it helps prevent discoloration that naturally happens when avo is exposed to air. For the salsa, it is very simple and probably the best part. Chop up tomatoes (2-3) onions, garlic, cilantro, lime juice, and a small portion of jalapeno. When you make this ahead it allows the flavors to blend nicely. Cheese is simple, just grated, nothing special about the particular cheese. I also used to think Frank’s hot sauce would be way out of line because most have undesirable ingredients but it is used in some of the cook books I have and the original’s ingredient list is surprisingly short.

For the filling I chopped up some carrots and mushrooms in really tiny cubes, sauteed and set aside. I used one package of gr beef from the butcher freezer pac and used my spices to mimic taco seasoning. I used garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, pinch of cayenne, salt and pepper. Then added the mushroom and carrot mix into the meat. It makes it go slightly farther and sneaks a few extra veggies in there.

 As you can see the lettuce really holds up! I like everything in mine so it’s full of filling, cheese, salsa, guac, sour cream, hot sauce etc ALL THE TOPPINGS. soooo good!

So if you’ve been following you may have noticed that I talked about cutting out all dairy, and are possibly confused because above you will see both cheese and sour cream…HA. Well let’s just say moderation is key. Rob and I both agree our tummys feel better now than 6 months ago, as we suspect we may have some minor dairy intolerance. For me, it is very subtle and sometimes non existent but was more of an issue for him. We have still cut out about 80% + and only shop for cheese when we have planned to make cauli pizza, which is about once a month. We usually have some leftover and will use it in other stuff. In this case I felt like sour cream would really enhance the tacos and I shopped around and bought in my opinion, the best of my options. I try to buy full fat, and always check the ingredients. We feel like the enjoyment of having some cheese here and there outweighs the discomfort we may or may not experience, and if you feel like your making the best choice out of your options than I don’t see any reason not to go for it.

Don't be shy!

