Chocolate Avocado loaf

So right after I finished the ~~~> zucchini cake <~~~ I wanted to compare it to a chocolate avocado loaf. Who says dessert has to be bad for you! This recipe is also by Living healthy with chocolate!

You will need:

  • 1½ cup avocado, mashed*
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2½ tablespoons coconut cream
  • 3 tablespoons raw honey
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup pecans
  • 2 cups blanched almond flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ cup raw cacao powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ⅓ cup chocolate chips

Use food processor to cream avocado.

  In separate bowl mix the pecans, almond flour, baking soda, cacao powder, salt and chocolate chips in a large bowl

add the coconut oil, vanilla, coconut cream, honey and eggs to the avocado and pulse to combine ingredients

  combine wet and dry ingredients and mix gently with a rubber spatula. Do not over mix.
  Pour into loaf pan and bake at 350 for aprx 45 mins

In comparison I think I prefer the Chocolate Zucchini Cake. I also have to keep reminding myself that this is still a treat. I find almond flour to be quite heavy and probably not something I should make baked goods with daily…ha
These are the chocolate chips I used for both loafs. They have cane sugar to sweeten but these are still bittersweet so not overly concerned about it. The other 2 ingredients are cocoa powder and cocoa mass. At first I wasn’t convinced that it would be worth it to buy “special” chocolate chips as of course I know chocolate quality makes a difference but I compared these to the ingredient list on conventional brand of chocolate chip bag and I was blown away! This made my decision very easy! Do some research, compare labels, read ingredients!

Don't be shy!

