Vietnamese Lettuce Cups

So I met a friend who is originally from Bowen Island and we started hanging out a bit. I invited her for dinner and this is what we had. We both really enjoyed this! It was a first time for me so I was happy it went over well. I will definitely be making this again in the next week when Rob comes home.

You will need:

  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 small shallot
  • salt
  • 1 pound gr pork (I used beef)
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger (I used my small hand grater)
  • 1 garlic clove (also grated)
  • 1 tsp fish sauce
  • 2 tsp fresh lime juice
  • black pepper
  • 1/2 golden delicious apple
  • 2 scallions
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
  • 1 tsp fresh mint
  • 2 tbsp fresh basil
  • 1 head butter lettuce
  • pickled carrots (recipe directly below)

For Carrots:

  • 1/4 cup apple juice (I juiced an apple)
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • salt

I used my sprializer but you could use a julienne tool. After spiraling the carrots I submerged them in the above cocktail, covered, and refrigerated for 1+ hour. The recipe says at least 30 mins.

  This was my first attempt at pickling anything but they were so tangy and good! Here’s how:
    The butter head lettuce I found was AMAZING! Look how pretty and green it is.
    It came still attached to it’s roots so it is labelled as “living” it was the best lettuce I ever used! I will definitely use this lettuce for any type of wrapping I do in the future.
  In large skillet melt fat, add shallot, and pinch of salt, saute for about 3 mins. Add ground meat and cook through. Add ginger and garlic stirring until fragrant. Season with fish sauce, lime juice, and pepper. Remove from the heat, add the apple and the minced herbs.
SO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!

Don't be shy!

