Kabocha Squash and Oven Roasted Chicken

Alright so I found this squash idea in my Nom Nom recipe book. I really like butternut squash and others and had never tried this type so I thought I’d give it a go. It’s called kabocha or “Japanese squash” and I was worried it would be hard to find but it was literally one of the first things I saw at Save On….convenient. The outside of the raw squash is quite tough so be careful if/when cutting it. The easiest way as per the book is to trim both ends and then cut it in half once the flesh is exposed. Spoon out the seeds and stringy stuff. Its up to you whether you want to peel the skin off or not, it is edible but I chose to peel it.
  Cut into wedges all around the same size if you can.  Toss with 2 tbsp of your favorite cooking fat. I used tallow but you could use coconut oil, ghee, whatever you prefer. Season with salt and pepper.
  Arrange in a single layer on a baking sheet and cook at 400* for 30 minutes, flipping them at the halfway point.
You know they are done when they are slightly crispy. I wish all of mine got as crispy as that one dark piece…might leave them in a bit longer next time.


As for the chicken, it was my first time using the oven to cook a whole chicken as I usually use my crock pot. One thing I like more about roasted chicken is crispy skin….sounds so gross but I LOVE SKIN. I really owe credit to my mom for this one because she answered like 100 qustions from me tonight just about chicken….she makes roasted chicken a lot and I love it so I knew she would know the answers. I just put the whole chicken in a glass baking dish, squeezed lemon over it, salted and peppered it. I put the oven at 375 and the timer for 1 hour and 30 minutes. For the last 30 minutes I bumped it up to 400 so that I could add the squash. I also ended up putting it back in for about 10 more minutes because I had to fiddle with the trays to get them to both fit so probably lost some heat.

The end result was SO good. Definitely a different chicken than the crock pot but I will still have the bones to make stock and also collected the drippings and might try making gravy….!! Since I have like a MASSIVE amount of chicken to myself that I need to consume before it goes bad. Both first time dishes, both great!

Don't be shy!

