Mongolian Beef

On Sunday when I usually do my meal planning and shopping I was feeling very unmotivated and contemplated putting it off. After I pulled Paleo Takeout off the shelf for first time in a month or more I remembered why it’s my favorite! Then I got all excited about my dinners this week. This recipe may seem like a lot but its actually quite simple and if you clean as you go you’ll end up with an organized space as well as a “I feel like I’m eating at a restaurant” type satisfying meal.

You will need

Sauce:
1/2 inch ginger
2 garlic cloves
1/4 cup tamari
1/4 cup beef broth
2 tbsp Chinese cooking wine
1 1/2 tbsp honey                                         **
1 tbsp blackstrap molasses (or honey)     ** I didn’t have molasses I just used 2 tbsp honey
splash of sesame oil
salt/pepper

Beef:
2 tbsp arrowroot or tapioca starch
salt/pepper
Steak ( I just used one) cut into strips

Finishing Touches:
Green onions
Sesame seeds
Vermicelli- optional

Slurry:
1 tbsp arrowroot starch
1 tbsp water

Combine sauce ingredients and bring to a simmer over medium heat. Reduce to medium-low while you prepare the beef.

 
  I used my small hand grater to grate the ginger root and garlic.
combine the starch (arrowroot or tapioca) salt and pepper in bowl. Coat the steak strips in the mixture.  Cook in cooking fat, I used coconut oil. The starch allows it to get super crispy and delicious. Add the green onion when steak seems cooked.

You’ll want to make the slurry (super easy) and add it to the simmering sauce. Stir rapidly, you should instantly see the consistency change. Then add the thickened sauce into the meat and onions.

The recipe called for sweet potato noodles but I am into vermicelli so I just stuck with what I know. Tip* If you plan to have left overs to bring to school or work I recommend only cooking the amount of noodles you need/want for the current meal. If you make a lot and mix it with the sauce and meat right away you risk them being stiff and meh the next time you pull it out. Although that’s not always the case if you can put it back in the frying pan. Sauces with thickening agents like arrowroot in my opinion are not the same when eaten cold.

Garnish with sesame seeds and enjoy!! I always love eating this type of meal with chopsticks. SO satisfying. It honestly makes me feel as if I went down the street and ordered take out!  

Don't be shy!

