Pumpkin carrot muffins 

These are no joke the best muffins I’ve ever made including non healthy versions. YUM! Seriously. I found this recipe on the Nom Nom Paleo website! It is sooooo good. I made a few slight changes for example it suggest using 5 spice powder which I did not have so I used pumpkin spice powder. It also had cream of tartar on the recipe which I also didn’t have but read you could replace it with a different acid. In this case it was for every 1/2 tsp of baking soda use 1 tsp of lemon juice. I used 2 tsp of lemon juice!

You will need:

  • 3 eggs
  • 4 medium carrots
  • 1 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin spice blend
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • 3/4 canned pumpkin **
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 tbsp almond butter
  • 2 tsp melted coconut oil

**It is very important to make sure you read the can and get pure pumpkin puree NOT PIE FILLING! There is a big difference

Right away I would take the eggs and almond butter out of the fridge because they are recommended to be room temperature to mix smoothly…

Pre-heat oven at 350*

Grate your carrots, place in cheese cloth or clean thin kitchen cloth and squeeze as much of the liquid out as you can manage.

The aim is to have 1 and 1/2 cups

In a large bowl whisk together almond flour, pumpkin spice, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt (I didn’t measure, just did a couple twists of the grinder), and cream of tartar…as mentioned above I used lemon juice. I wasn’t sure if I should still add the lemon to the dry ingredients but didn’t have anyone to ask so I just went for it. Immediately the lemon reacted with the baking soda and created somewhat of a science experiment feel. I was worried this would affect the baking but it was too late. (IT DIDN’T!!)

In a different bowl whisk the room temperature eggs. Add in pumpkin, honey, almond butter and melted coconut oil.

My almond butter was really dry because it was the end of my jar and the oil was long gone so I ended up using my immersion blender to get the clumps mixed in.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry. Mix.

Fold in the shredded carrots.

Spoon into a greased muffin tin. I chose to top with raw pumpkin seeds.

Cook for 30 minutes rotating the pan half way through. These smell wonderful while baking.

ENJOY! SO GOOD

Don't be shy!

