Chicken quinoa Greek salad

Okay so this is a great recipe. You can have it for lunch/dinner/leftovers at work etc. So a while back when I made a whole chicken and then proceeded to make chicken broth, instead of using it for soup I measured it out into individual portions and froze all of it just as straight up chicken broth. This has come in handy so many times and I can 100% say having chicken broth elevated this recipe to a level not even on the scale.

When I cooked the quinoa (1 cup quinoa to 2 cups liquid) I used all chicken broth instead of water. AMAZING. Seriously. It’s hard to get the same experience when using store bought broth because it’s pretty thin but the homemade stuff is thick and greasy and fatty muhahaha.

 

image

Make Greek salad as you normally would. The beauty of this is that you can pick and choose what you add. For me it is cherry tomatoes, pepper, purple onion, Kalamata olives, and cucumber. So colorful.

image

I had a large chicken breast so I seasoned it with salt, pepper, volcano spice, and Italian seasoning and baked it in the oven at 350 for 40 minutes.

image

I chopped the chicken up and tossed it in hot sauce (totally preference and optional). Then I just mixed everything together. Drizzled it with maple balsamic vinegar and of course feta. A tip for greek salad that I love is to add a splash of the feta brine to the mix. It honestly didn’t need a sauce so there was no salad dressing other than the balsamic and feta brine.

image

This was so delicious. I’ve made this many times but this was by far the tastiest time. I definitely give credit to using chicken broth instead of water while cooking the quinoa for making that happen.

 

Thanks for tuning in ❤

Don't be shy!

