Chocolate dream smoothie 

Have you ever thought and wished “why can’t healthy food taste as good as junk food”? Wellllllll it can. Obviously you’re never going to make broccoli taste like chocolate but you can make a healthy version of something chocolate !!!

I just purchase a magic bullet this week. At first I was hesitant because it was more expensive than I was expecting but I went for it and I do NOT regret it!! I’ve been going smoothie crazy and having at least 2 a day haha! I’ve been making delicious green smoothies but this post is all about chocolate.

Start with a frozen banana

Add other frozen fruit of choice. This time I used strawberries.

1 tbsp of hemp seeds.

1/2 an avocado. I really stress that this is an extremely important ingredient regardless if you like avocado or not. It makes the texture and does not add a taste.

1 tbsp of raw cacao. *Remember cacao and cocoa are different ingredients.

Cacao v cocoa powder

“Raw cacao powder is made by cold-pressing unroasted cocoa beans. The process keeps the living enzymes in the cocoa and removes the fat (cacao butter).

Cocoa looks the same but it’s not. Cocoa powder is raw cacao that’s been roasted at high temperatures. Sadly, roasting changes the molecular structure of the cocoa bean, reducing the enzyme content and lowering the overall nutritional value.”

cacao v cocoa <- check out this link for more info!

1 medjool date. This adds a delicious sweetness.

Aprx 1 cup unsweetened almond milk – or milk of choice. It is worth noting, however, that dairy is “said” to inhibit the absorption of some of the nutritional benefits found in raw cacao.

SERIOUSLY. This is like ice cream. With nutritional value. Honestly it’s absolutely worth making and the magic bullet blends smoother than any blender I’ve had so I’m very happy with my purchase!!!

Not pictured is the addition of cinnamon and a splash of vanilla. This makes a great replacement for an ice cream craving and is completely dairy and refined sugar free! As well a great idea would be to use chilled coffee as the liquid as well! Which I am definitely going to try.

Don't be shy!

