Cavolini Al Forno

THIS.

Well this was probably my favorite of the week. I sort of feel like I knew it was going to be because from the moment I saw the photo in the cook book I could tell it would be amazing. A neat observation is change in tastes. I never HATED brussels sprouts but I would have never eaten an entire bowl of them as my dinner. UNTIL NOW 😉 I also used to HATE dijon mustard but it paired so well I think I’m in love.

This recipe is also from ~>Nom Nom Paleo<~

You will need:

  • 2 pounds brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved (I didn’t weigh mine but had a huge bag)
  • 3 tbsp melted ghee (or butter)
  • salt/pepper
  • porkitos (recipe below)
  • Hard boiled eggs (1 per person)

Porkitos:

Prosciutto chips. Line baking sheet with parchment paper, arrange prosciutto in pieces, and cook for 10 minutes at 350. THATS IT.IMG_0403[1]

Vinigrette:

  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tsp balsamic vinegar (I used apple cider)
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 2 tsp minced shallot (I used green onion)
  • 1/2 tsp salt/pepper

Add to a jar, seal lid, and shake like crazy.

Preheat oven to 400*

Toss sprouts in melted butter, season with salt n pep. Arrange on baking sheet lined with foil. Roast for 35 mins, rotating and flipping half way through. When the sprouts are in the oven is a great time to hard boil some eggs.

IMG_0401[1] IMG_0402[1]

Toss sprouts with vinaigrette in a large bowl.

IMG_0404[1]

The hard boiled eggs are “sieved”. Sieved means it’s pushed through a fine strainer. It is the first time I’ve used this method for anything but I did think it was worth doing.

IMG_0405[1]

Dish out the sprouts, top with crumbled porkitos and sieved egg.

IMG_0406[1] IMG_0408[1]

SO GOOD. I will definitely be making this again. It also feels good to be able to make healthy food and not feel like I’m forcing it down my throat. This was delicious and I wanted more! I had the leftovers for lunch the next day, just as good! I also added a bit more dijon on top of mine because I felt like it. I found a realllllly nice jar of dijon mustard by the company : Maison Orphee. The list of ingredients are

  • water
  • organic mustard seeds
  • apple cider vinegar
  • sea salt

I have a feeling I’ll be putting it on lots of things! ENJOY

Don't be shy!